Writing in my head

A story is unfolding in my thoughts, and I call this “writing in my head.” I’ve done it before. The story sort of rolls and rumbles along, th (4)and then when it’s ready to be released, it just writes itself. Some of my favorite works have been launched this way.

This story, though, is slow in coming, grinding to a halt already after a good beginning. I’m stuck. So I typed up a Word doc and wrote down my ideas, with a lot of “Why’s” and “What if’s.” I think that’s helping. Sometimes I can’t get a story off the ground and I think it’s because I don’t work on it enough in my head before starting to write it.

This story will be for Woman’s World. I haven’t written anything new for them in a long time. I’ve been working with old ones, tweaking and changing a bit here and there.

I’ve gotten so discouraged with all the rejections I just gave up for awhile.

I re-read my story titled “A Smile to Love” today, and I like it. I feel hopeful. Maybe it’s the one that will get me a contract instead of a rejection!

About joyackley

I am a published writer living in sunny Florida. I share a home with my three spoiled cats. I am mother to two wonderful daughters, and I am grandmother to Sam, Jackson, and Elin.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

