Revision, Rewrites, and Edits

Does a writer ever stop revising and editing? I do it even to pieces that are already published or ones I’ve submitted for consideration. I just read one of my stories that has been accepted for publication, and in one section, I found a way to make a better transition between scenes. The online publication has editors, but I don’t know if they will “fix” this problem or not. I don’t know if a reader would catch it.

I’d like to know if other writers face this issue and how you handle it.

There comes a time when you have to stop fussing with the piece and call it a day. But for me, it’s a long process.

I hope to hear from some fellow writers. I hope you post a comment on my blog. 

About joyackley

I am a published writer living in sunny Florida. I share a home with my three spoiled cats. I am mother to two wonderful daughters, and I am grandmother to Sam, Jackson, and Elin.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Revision, Rewrites, and Edits

  1. Marisue Smith says:

    Joyce I never stop rewriting until I have submitted the article or story & then its too late until a few years later when i rewrite again. As writers I don’t think we are ever satisfied that we have done the best possible on our work. The only way to handle this is just say “That’s it for today”. And then work on it again the next time!

Leave a Reply

