First or Third Person in Fiction?

Do you prefer writing in first person or third person in fiction? I do both, but I prefer 1st person. I think I can get into the character’s head a little bit better that way.

I have an online writer friend, Birdie Etchison, who likes to write in first person, present tense. She does this style flawlessly.

I just finished another romance for Woman’s World. I’m not  happy with it. It doesn’t sing or sparkle. The plot is sound; the characters are realistic and likable. It has a beginning, a middle, and an ending. It has conflict. All the elements required in a short story, and I’ve done it in 800 words, per WW requirements. But the story lacks something. It’s a “Miss.”  I think I will re-write it in 1st person to see if I can rev it up a bit.

Writers, what’s your preference?

About joyackley

I am a published writer living in sunny Florida. I share a home with my three spoiled cats. I am mother to two wonderful daughters, and I am grandmother to Sam, Jackson, and Elin.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

