I Yam What I Yam – But Tryin’ to Be Better!

th (4)

I see a lot of bloggers making lists of things pertaining to writing. I’ve seen To Do lists and lists of Goals, short ones and long-term.  So let’s play. I’ll see your List and raise you two! First, I’ll name 5 of my strengths as a writer, and next, I’ll reveal 5 areas in which I need improvement. Mind you, there are way more than five in this category, but I’ll keep it simple. Who wants to read long lists, anyway?

My 5 Strengths as a Writer

  1. I write good dialogue.
  2. I can write dialogue without tags.
  3. I write nice descriptions.
  4. I create likable characters.
  5. I use correct grammar.

My 5 Weaknesses as a Writer

  1. I fizzle out in the middle of a story.
  2. I am never satisfied with a ms.
  3. I spend too much time perfecting and tweaking instead of moving on.
  4. My plots for long works are poorly developed.
  5. I get discouraged easily.

Seeing my weaknesses in print helps me to pinpoint problem areas. Now if I could just get motivated to do something about those weaknesses, I’d be a step ahead.  I wrote this last list without thinking too much in advance. I just got them down as the ideas popped into my head. Upon studying the items, it’s clear that numbers 1 and 4 are closely related, as are numbers 2 and 3. That would certainly bring number 5 into the picture. If I can’t finish something, of course I’m going to become discouraged. Duh.

This little blog post has turned out to be quite revealing. Why don’t you try it? You may see some correlation in the lists, just as I did. You’ll be your own writing coach, and it won’t cost you $75 an hour.

About joyackley

I am a published writer living in sunny Florida. I share a home with my three spoiled cats. I am mother to two wonderful daughters, and I am grandmother to Sam, Jackson, and Elin.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to I Yam What I Yam – But Tryin’ to Be Better!

  1. L.S. Engler says:

    A nice thing about your weakness, too, is that you’ll probably find you’re not alone, Joyce. I have a lot of those same weakness as well, and I see other writers struggling with the same things. Maybe it’s just a part of the job? It’s our strengths that make us unique and different, so I strive to highlight those as best I can.

  2. Joyackley, this is such a great post for a newbie like myself. Listing of strengths and weaknesses is a great list, that I will have to develop.

    • joyackley says:

      Thank you so much. I found it helpful when I saw how the weaknesses were related. I am honored that you reblogged my post. No one has done that before, and I am grateful that you liked it enough to share with others. A heartfelt thank-you to a fellow writer.

  3. Reblogged this on Retirement Lifestyle Blog and commented:
    Great place to start to get better.

Leave a Reply

