Writer at Work!

th (11)

Here I am, slaving away at my new novel! I’m all dressed up for the writing session in my new power suit and sensible oxfords. My hair is freshly coiffed, and I’m ready to turn out 3 or 4 chapters of great work.

Actually, that’s Agatha Christie. I found that image when I googled “Writer at Work”, and on a whim, I decided to use it with my post.

I am in awe at how Agatha Christie and other writers wrote full-length novels on those little typewriters. I guess typewriters were a new invention that allowed writers to write faster and turn out more work when they progressed from pen and paper.

I see what appears to be an outline, or notes that Christie is working from. See how neat and organized her work space is?

Now if Agatha Christie and others could write best-sellers on a manual typewriter, why can’t I just finish a novel, for Heaven sakes? I’ve got a decent computer, a comfortable room with sunlight streaming through the window, a ceiling fan, and warmth or coolness at the ready, thanks to an efficiently operating central Heat/AC unit. I have a choice of hot or cold beverages, and plenty of snacks. Sweet or salty. And a purring, sleeping cat at my feet. What else do I need?

My writing attire is usually my pj’s, and I’m barefoot. If I’m dressed, I’m wearing jeans and a tee shirt and athletic shoes. My hair is brushed. Or nah. My short grey ‘do is unruly, and if you know who the singer Miguel is, his messy, piled-on-top hair style is what mine looks like when I get up. My hair tends to look wild and pompador-ish ’til I tame it with water, gel, and hairspray.

An Agatha Christie I am not, but I have been doing some serious thinking concerning my writing and going in a different direction. The little cozy mysteries I write and the light, sweet romances are not marketable. Several have been published online, but I haven’t made any money. And folks, I’d like to sell my writing. I’d like to be paid, but as I’ve lamented before, the paying markets are few.

I’ve had friends ask, “Why don’t you write a novel?” and I’ve always answered, “I’m not a novelist. I don’t think I can write a book.” And that’s an honest answer. I don’t know if I have the patience or if I can come up with enough words. I’m a “tight” writer. I don’t know if I can pile on the dialogue and the details and the back story and the conflict and all the rest.

I’m at a crossroads. I am taking some online classes, and the first assignment deals with Goal, Motivation, and Conflict. I am lost. However, I did manage to write what I’m calling the first chapter in a novel. It doesn’t stand alone. I’ll have to keep going. I did the best I could, polished and tweaked and worried and fretted for a few days, and finally, hit that Send button. The first chapter is on its way to my instructor.

We’ll see what happens. If I’m on the right track, and if/or I can master the GMC components enough to work on a novel, I’ll keep going. Who knows? I just may finish that book I’ve started. For motivation, I’ll think of Agatha Christie and her little black typewriter.

About joyackley

I am a published writer living in sunny Florida. I share a home with my three spoiled cats. I am mother to two wonderful daughters, and I am grandmother to Sam, Jackson, and Elin.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Writer at Work!

  1. territiffany says:

    I always said I couldn’t write a novel. I write tight like you. It’s a struggle to add words. Doing that now. But you can do it too! Looking forward to reading your work!

  2. One of my college professors said he wrote his entire dissertation with paper and pencil before having someone type it up for him… we really are blessed these days!

  3. joyackley says:

    I agree! Thanks for stopping by.

  4. jillatjlah says:

    Hahaha, I enjoyed the opening with Agatha Christie! Best of luck on the novel.

  5. Andy Oldham says:

    I saw a quote on another blog this week that said: “If your think being a writer is easy then I will punch you!” I found that quite funny and truthful! I know that others think it is easy just to sit there and write, but we who write know better. I wish you a lot of luck and no writers block in 2015 my writing friend. Blessings!

  6. Anonymous says:

    I just read your blog. Keep writing and keep submitting articles. As for the novel just bring each new chapter to our group. I am planning to do that also. Maisue

    • joyackley says:

      Thanks! Got the 2nd chapter all outlined in my head. The characters have been talking non-stop and kept me awake last night with their incessant chatter! I’ll get it all down today or tomorrow and have Chapter 2 ready to bring to the meeting. Looking forward to yours, too.

Leave a Reply

