What is it about Rainy Days and Tuesdays?

 

th (13)

It’s been a gloomy, dreary, rainy day. The sun has not peeked out even once. If I had to describe the sky, I’d make up a shade of gray for an automobile paint color, or a man’s sweater, or a cocktail dress. I’d use words like Silver Mist, Harbor Fog, or Grey Pearl.

I haven’t done much of anything today, although what I have accomplished has been productive. Cleaned out the fridge for one thing. A garbage disposal and a dishwasher come in handy for such a chore, as do giant garbage bags for discarded bottles and jars. I feel badly for having wasted so much food, but the sight of a clean, fresh-smelling refrigerator assuages my guilt. I felt I had to get this task out of the way before I sat down to write my blog entry.

This will be my last post for 2014. At this point, I don’t want to make a list of writing goals and plans for the New Year. I never follow through, so I find it best to just keep on plugging along, maybe with a little more effort and perseverance.

I am determined to submit at least one piece before the end of the year. I have two stories, actually, that I’m thinking of sending out. But I know there are problems with each of them. Have you ever subbed something you knew wasn’t “quite right?” You knew the work was flawed, yet sent it off anyway? That’s what is going to happen with the two pieces of mine. One is an 800 word romance for Woman’s World.  It’s a good story, with a well-developed main character, conflict, tension, a believable resolution, and a “Hopeful” ending. Here’s the flaw: I had to use a lot of words for the set-up before the conflict appeared. (Usually in such a short work, the conflict comes in right away.) The love interest appears late in the story (he resolves the conflict), but my remaining word count is too low to create a lot of interaction between them. So I tried to make sparks fly in a few words, and leave the reader with a “feel-good,” hopeful, ending for the woman and the man. It’s a kind of Cinderella story involving shoes, and that’s all I can tell you. This theme has been worn out, but it still appeals to romantics.

I’m hoping that the editor at WW will like it enough to overlook the flaws and maybe do some editing to get it up to par.

The other story is a romance I’m sending to a UK magazine. I’ve tried to make it sound British as best I can, but the cultural differences create a problem. I’ve changed all my “Mom’s to “Mum’s”.  The big flaw with this story is that there is an important reference to cars.  An English friend told me the people in the story would likely ride the “tube” – train – for their shopping and errands instead of driving a car. One sentence about an automobile is so crucial I can’t think of a way to change it, but perhaps a more creative writer could. Again, maybe a good editor could tweak it.

What will it hurt to send these two stories off? I won’t know ‘til I try, and there’s no use trying to fix flaws when I don’t know how.

So wish me luck.

Happy New Year, everyone. May it be a productive, successful year for all us writers

About joyackley

I am a published writer living in sunny Florida. I share a home with my three spoiled cats. I am mother to two wonderful daughters, and I am grandmother to Sam, Jackson, and Elin.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to What is it about Rainy Days and Tuesdays?

  1. Taryn T. says:

    Wishing you lots of luck with your writing!

  2. territiffany says:

    No rain here. Very dry, praying next year is a great one for you!!!

  3. Anonymous says:

    I love your stories! I can’t imagine they will need much editing. Good Luck on the two that you are sending out, my bet is they will be hits!

    • joyackley says:

      Well, thanks so much Linda! I don’t know why your comments sometimes post as Anonymous. One did, and one had your name, in fact. I edit the heck out of my stories. Sure wish I’d have a “hit” one of these days! Thanks for the encouraging words.

  4. Linda Byak says:

    I really am not anonymous? ^^^^^^^^^

  5. We’ve had cold, freezing rain too…but it makes great weather for sitting inside with a hot cup of coffee and writing, I think!

    Best of luck on all your writing projects…sounds like you have some exciting things in the works!

    • joyackley says:

      Thank you! I hope I have some luck with my subs. Our rain here in Central Florida is not freezing, just chilly. The temps were in the 60’s during those rainy days, and it’s in the seventies today. Love Florida in the winter! Come summer, I’ll be complaining about the heat, but I am spoiled to mild winters. I don’t own a hat, gloves, mittens, woolen scarves, boots – none of that cold weather gear. I’ve worn a very light weight jacket just once or twice this winter. Love it!

  6. Anonymous says:

    Loved your blog of rainy day. Glad to hear you are writing. I’m in a down period.
    but trying to overcome. My problem is getting used to Windows 8.

  7. Andy Oldham says:

    Thank yoiu for following my blog! Blessings!

Leave a Reply

